Category: NEWS

The Horsenecks “Six Foot Under” (Official Video)

The official video for “Six Foot Under” by The Horsenecks from their new release on Tiki Parlour Recordings.

Available on CD and Vinyl in our Tiki Parlour SHOP!

The Horsenecks are: Gabrielle Macrae and Barry Southern

Video by Riley Calcagno

Kirk Sutphin Featured in Banjo Newsletter (January 2021)

Kirk Sutphin’s epic release “Devil in the Strawstack” is the feature story in the latest issue of Banjo Newsletter!!!
Check out the interview and stellar review! It also has banjo tabs from the CD/DVD Set for Kirk’s “Back Step Cindy” and Travis Stuart’s “Joke on the Puppy” transcribed by David Bragger.
What a way to kick off 2021!

…Read more

Jake Loew – Tommy Jarrell’s “Cider” (Official Video)

The “digital crankie” music video for Tommy Jarrell’s “Cider” from the upcoming CD, “Return of the Son of Old Time Fiddle” by Jake Loew. The debut album of genius old-time musician Jake Loew AND the first official Tiki Parlour novelty “party” album. In the early history of recorded sound, “party” records like the Okeh Laughing Record from the 1920s were all the rage. This CD is Tiki Parlour’s answer to those historic releases. Imagine Old-Time Fiddle meets Bill Monroe meets Nintendo meets 70s Gameshow Soundtracks meets Clockwork Orange.

Purchase HERE

“Return of the Son of Old-time Fiddle” is the ultimate looney tune party record for traditional music connoisseurs and avant-garde electronic music lovers. The arrangements are hilariously clever and smothered in many soothing layers of dripping wet cheese fungus that the Super Mario Brothers would die to sink their mustaches into. It will also liven up any fiesta, even your solo dinner party in the quarantine era. Cutting edge animators Nick Bachman, Mikie Poland, and Brian Nguyen use their collective experience – Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, Sony, Dreamworks, Warner Bros, Frederator – to do the impossible: wrangle the mysterious unbridled creative juggernaut that is Glenn.

And here’s the TRAILER for the CD:

Welcome to Vol. 3 of the Magic Lantern Music Show. These are half hour music shows featuring some of the best traditional musicians in the world. This episode features Kansas and Texas musicians TRICIA SPENCER & HOWARD RAINS along with their stringband THE SKELETON KEYS. You can purchase their CD & DVD Set “The Spotted Pony“ and a variety of other old-time recordings at

Filmed and recorded by David Bragger

Spencer & Rains TIP JAR :- (Donate to support the artists)

PayPal:        Venmo: @lawrencefiddler

Support the Old-Time Tiki Parlour and contribute to our future recordings! Only you make it possible!

Tricia Spencer: Fiddle, Vocals

Howard Rains: Fiddle, Guitar, Vocals

John Schwab: Guitar

Brendan Doyle: Banjo

Emily Mann: Bass

Nancy Hartness: Guitar

Charlie Hartness: Ukelele

Kirk Sutphin – Devil in the Strawstack (CD & DVD Set)

The Old-Time Tiki Parlour is proud to present the latest CD & DVD Set release from North Carolina fiddle and banjo legend Kirk Sutphin. “Devil in the Strawstack” features 27 tracks of classic North Carolina stringband music performed by Kirk Sutphin along with Travis Stuart and Tom Sauber. The set also sports a beautiful booklet with liner notes written by Kirk Sutphin and artwork by Texas musician/artist Howard Rains. The music was filmed, recorded and edited by David Bragger.

Available HERE.

(Shipping begins the week of August 10th, 2020)

Kirk Sutphin is a living legend in the world of old-time fiddle and banjo music. He is the “real thing,” having grown up in the tradition and having mastered the old sounds. Kirk grew up in Walkertown, North Carolina and at age eight decided to follow his grandfather’s footsteps as a fiddler. As a teenager Kirk studied regularly with Tommy Jarrell and is now recognized as the reincarnation of the Tommy Jarrell style. He is also a masterful banjo player in the style of Fred Cockerham and Charlie Poole. This recording and film focuses on Kirk’s exceptional instrumental music abilities and is 100% proof that real old-time music lives in the sounds of the elders as preserved and transmitted through players like Kirk Sutphin.

Kirk is joined by the amazing talents of old-time masters Travis Stuart and Tom Sauber on banjo and guitar. These recordings showcase some of the greatest old-time duets and stringband recordings ever put to record.

1. John Brown’s Dream
2. The Route
3. Joke on the Puppy
4. Chilly Winds
5. Back Step Cindy
6. Greasy String
7. Fanny Hill
8. Rockingham Cindy
9. Hell Among the Yearlings
10. Devil in the Strawstack
11. McLeod’s Reel
12. Cluck Old Hen
13. George Booker
14. Rochester Schottische
15. Goodnight Waltz
16. Roustabout
17. Richmond Cotillion
18. Ida Red
19. Girl of My Dreams
20. Black-eyed Susan
21. Britches
22. Old Bunch of Keys
23. Ebenezer
24. Roscoe
25. Susananna Gal
26. Fortune
27. Sunny Home in Dixie

ENGLE: Portrait of Asheville Old-Time Fiddler John Engle

Portrait of Asheville old-time fiddler John Engle, prodigious student of Tommy Jarrell’s fiddling style. Diagnosed with autism, John has developed a fascinating method for visualizing Jarrell’s techniques.

Filmmaker Johnny Duncan is an old-time musician from Oklahoma. He made this film while studying at Warren Wilson College in North Carolina while apprenticing under John Herrmann on banjo and John Engle on fiddle.

John Engle
Meredith McIntosh
John Herrmann

(Thanks to the Warren Wilson College Documentary Film Program)

Magic Lantern Music Show (Vol. 1) – Eric & Suzy Thompson AND Rafe & Clelia Stefanini

We’re excited to launch our NEW MUSIC SERIES for all of you stay-at-homers! These are half hour music shows featuring some of the best traditional musicians in the world. Our first episode features the musical genius of the Thompsons and the Stefaninis. Enjoy fiddle duets, Cajun, Old-time, Blues, breakdowns, rags and more. There’s even a banjo!
For these videos and more like this, you can purchase the Eric & Suzy Thompson DVD and the Rafe & Clelia Stefanini DVD at
These videos were recorded and filmed by old-time musician/documentarian David Bragger.
SUPPORT us and PURCHASE their DVDs and more amazing music from the Tiki Parlour catalog at
Subscribe to our channel and stay tuned for Vol. 2 of the Magic Lantern Music Show where you’ll get a chance to see more of the greatest folk musicians in the world.
Tiki Parlour Magic Lantern Music Show (Vol.1)
Eric & Suzy Thompson
1. Stop and Listen
2. Podunk Toddle
3. Wayne Perry Waltz
4. Cheese Reed Waltz
Rafe & Clelia Stefanini
5. Hog-eyed Man
6. Fire on the Mountain
7. Lady’s Fancy
8. Train 45